GROW QUILT SEW ALONG

I recently finished my quilt top for the Grow Quilt Sew Along hosted by Suzy Quilts. This was a really fun pattern and I learned so much during the sew along.

I’m still obsessed with these fabrics!! The Lindley Lawns by Kimberly Kight are just gorgeous, happy prints. The “Add It Up” in lavender, rust and peach paired beautifully and then I included a few Essex linens with that gorgeous stripe for the binding.

The Grow Quilt is made up of long strips sewn together. Cutting on grain was important and Suzy showed us how to rip a bit of the fabric to make sure we were cutting on grain. Man it is suuuuuper scary to rip fabric!!

I wanted to use more fabrics than the pattern called for so I used the Recolor App to plan out my design. It’s a great tool to use in the planning stages.

The next part was the fun part. Sewing those strips was so relaxing. And the pattern “grew” out from the center like a typical medallion quilt.

And the finished top! It’s such a happy quilt.

I’m really debating now over whether to hand quilt this or not. But straight line quilting with my machine could be really beautiful too. Any advice??

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started