THE DANA QUILT

I was one of the lucky pattern testers for Amber of Alderwood Studio. I can’t say enough good things about this quilt. The queen size was daunting but it honestly didn’t take too long to put together. (Although I did underestimate the time it would take a bit given this was my first queen sized quilt). The blocks are big so once you have those done the quilt comes together so fast. And it’s beautiful!!

The Dana Quilt / Queen Size
By Amber of Alderwood Studio

Here’s my fabric pull, I used Art Gallery Fabrics (AGF) and they are dreamy to work with. Their fabrics have a silky feel to them are lovely. I bought my fabric from Lamb and Loom and received everything so quickly!! For the floral block I used Bonnie Christine’s Her and History Line, specifically Antoinette’s Vintage, Gloria’s Back Porch and Lillian’s Secret Garden. The cross blocks are AGF pure elements in Hunter Fields paired with Kona Snow. I also used Kona snow as the background in the floral block.

The top fabric is AGF pure solid in sweet macadamia, but I didn’t end up using it.

That pretty green stripe is going to be the binding!

Amber wrote for the fast method of making half square triangles and flying geese, so the cutting didn’t take too long.

I originally planned to use the dark green for my background color. But when I did my mock—up I knew it was going to be too dark. I was making the quilt fit our basement bedroom that doesn’t get much light and that dark green was going to feel heavy down there.

But it’s so pretty!!!

I decided to switch to the lighter background and used the green for my crossing block. That hunter fields green is gorgeous by the way. 👌🏻

Im so happy with this quilt and highly recommend the Dana Quilt. It’s beautiful and timeless. You can purchase the pattern here. Alderwood Studio Dana Quilt

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started